Marvin Gaye - Soulful Moods


Funny Valentine


Format LP
Label DOL
Catalogue Number DOL963HG
Year 2018
Genre Soul, Classic Soul

Marvin Gaye

Soulful Moods (LP / 2018)


One of the most iconic singers of his generation, Marvin Gaye aka The Prince of Motown, was cited for his "huge contribution to soul music in general and the Motown Sound in particular...[his] classic R&B voice was edged with grit yet tempered with sweetness...[projecting] an air of soulful authority driven by fervid conviction and heartbroken vulnerability."

In correlation with the Marvin Gaye: 1961-1965 box set which collected the music legend's first seven studio efforts, the albums - The Soulful Moods Of Marvin Gaye (1961), That Stubborn Kinda' Fellow (1963), When I'm Alone I Cry (1964), Together – Marvin Gaye and Mary Wells (1964), Hello Broadway (1964), How Sweet It Is to Be Loved by You (1965) and A Tribute to the Great Nat "King" Cole (1965) - are all being offered individually on 180g vinyl.

Marvin's rare debut album, The Soulful Moods Of Marvin Gaye, featured what he loved to sing most: American standards from "My Funny Valentine" to Cole Porter's "Love for Sale." It's unlike anything he's best known for, but it's a fascinating portrait of a superstar in the rough nonetheless. Soulful Moods also includes Marvin's first single, "Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide."


Contact us about this record.


A1 Masquerade
A2 Funny Valentine
A3 Witchcraft
A4 Easy Living
A5 How Deep The Ocean
B1 Love For Sale
B2 Always
B3 How High The Moon
B4 Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
B5 Never Let You Go
B6 You Don't Know What Love Is